Islamic Terrorism in India

Most Muslims are not terrorists, but most terrorists are Muslims

Muslims concerns are secular and Hindus concerns are communal – Pseudosecularism in India

Posted by jagoindia on October 3, 2008


pseudo secular UPA & congress
by Ramesh on Sep 26, 2008 11:49 AM

* Sikhs getting slaughtered in thousands was only a big mistake; Hindus getting killed in Kashmir is a grave political problem ;

* Muslims getting killed by a few hundred is no less than a holocaust ; Poor protesters getting shot in West Bengal under Left Govt is just a plain misunderstanding;

* Banning Parzania in Gujarat was Communal; on the same time Banning Da Vinci Code was indeed Secular;

* Kargil attack was Government failure; Chinese invasion in 1962 was just an unfortunate Betrayal;

* Reservation in every school and college on caste lines strengthen Secularism; Reservations in minority institutions is Communal;

* Fake encounters in Gujarat [Sohrabuddin] was Modi sponsored BJP Communalism; Fake encounters under Cong-NCP in Maharashtra [Khwaja Younus] was only an instance of Police atrocity;

* Talking about Hindus and Hindu appeasement is dangerous and Communal; Talking about Muslims and Islam is Secular;

* BJP freeing 3 terrorists to save Indian hostages was Shameful; Freeing 4 militants to save the life of the daughter of a minister [Rubina Sayed] was a Natural Political dilemma;

* Attack on Parliament was the result of BJP ineptitude; Not hanging Afzal Guru,the mastermind despite Supreme Court orders is due to Humanity and Political dilemma;

* BJP questioning any religion is communal; Congress questioning Lord Rama existence was simply a Clerical Error.

Is there any end to Congress and it a shameless hypocrisy ?

One Response to “Muslims concerns are secular and Hindus concerns are communal – Pseudosecularism in India”

  1. I miss my friend Firoze Sheikh. He, along with his family vanished in 1987. I remember him clearly. A student of St Xavier’s college in Bombay, he used to come to K.C. College to meet his friends. I was in H.R. College then. We became friends at the tea stall outside my college.

    Imran Khan’s team was visiting India. I was shopping with my father in Santa Cruz market when the shopkeepers of Hasnabad Lane suddenly became ecstatic. Pakistan had defeated India in the first ODI. Suddenly there were young boys of my age out on the streets busy lighting firecrackers. A table was set up and sharbat was prepared and served to people passing by. “Pakistan jeet gaya”, is what the person at the table was saying, “Sharbat leejiye”. These Muslims were Indians. I could not understand why they were celebrating Pakistan’s victory over India.

    The following day, Firoze did not come to meet us. I got to know from his cousin Jameel that Firoze had beaten up some Muslim boys in his locality (Mahim) because they were celebrating Pakistan’s win over India and there was trouble in his neighbourhood because of that. Our term in college was coming to an end. I sent a message to Firoze to meet me before the holidays began. On our last day of college Firoze turned up to meet us. He looked disturbed. His community and neighbours in Mahim had boycotted his family to the extent that the maulvi had put up a notice outside the mosque that Firoze and his family would not be allowed to pray there because he had harmed a Muslim. His parents had stood by him and they decided to leave the locality and settle somewhere else. Firoze had come to say goodbye to us. He told us he would either shift to Thane area and stay there on rent, or probably move to Lucknow, where his family actually came from.

    That was the last time I saw him. He never called any of us after that. I was very puzzled about him being boycotted by his community.

    After the holidays, the new term in college began. My timings changed. I was attending morning lectures. After that I would study in the library or hang around with my friends for a couple of hours, then return home. On my way back I would get off at Bandra station and wait for bus no.222 which went to Yari road. That was my favourite bus as it started at the depot and I always found a place to sit. On one such afternoon I was waiting for the bus. There were a few people with me in the queue. Suddenly, the person to my right turned to me and asked in hindi “Sunn rahey ho? Kya bol raha hai yeh?”. I was taken aback. What was he talking about? I looked at this man closely. His head was shaven. He sported a mehndi coloured beard but had shaved off his moustache. The loud speaker was blaring away. The maulvi, at the top of his voice was preaching Islam to his community. He was saying, “If a Muslim insults a Muslim, Allah will never forgive him. If a Muslim harms a Muslim, Allah will send him to hell…..”. The gentleman next to me asked “If a Muslim offends a Muslim, Allah will punish him, but if a Muslim harms a non-Muslim, will Allah forgive him!” I obviously did not know how to react. The bus arrived and we all got in. But that man’s question and the maulvi’s preaching haunts me till today.

    In 1992, when Pakistan won the cricket world cup in Australia, Pakistani flags were hoisted in Mohammed Ali road. There were feasts organized for people visiting that area. I remember reading in the newspapers that there was ‘minor trouble between two communities’ in Mohammed Ali road and now everything was under control.

    Today, a majority of Indian Muslims are very proud of the 1993 Bombay blasts. They hold their head high and say, “It was the best thing that could ever happen to the Hindus of this country. They had made our lives miserable. Thank Allah for the blasts, now the Hindus respect us out of fear”.

    Today, Muslims come out in protest for being under scrutiny if there is a blast somewhere. Instead of helping the law to book the criminals, they protest to protect them, giving the excuse that the Muslim community has been secluded and has no right to express themselves and sing praises of Pakistan – a country that fought for freedom with us. But when freedom came, they stabbed us in the back.

    I belong to the Sindhi community that sacrificed it’s homeland to accommodate the Muslims in Pakistan. I feel secluded because like the Marathas, Gujaratis, Tamils and other communities, I have no State to identify myself with. Being a citizen of India, I feel discriminated against when my letters to newspaper editors are not printed. I also feel angry when my bag is checked for a bomb when I go to malls and movie houses. It angers me when the bank questions me about my source of income. It enrages me when I am asked for my identification when entering the airport. So what should I do? Should I blame the Muslims for this? Isn’t it because of them that I have to undergo this humiliation? Does that give me enough justification to make bombs and keep them in Muslim dominated areas and blow them to bits? I need an answer to this.

    People might say that, if the 1993 Bombay blasts are justified, then so is the Godhra incident. The Muslims should not complain anymore. The accounts have been set right.
    But I do not agree with them because I am not proud of the Godhra incident.

    I still remember Firoze’s parting words. He had said, “I thought Muslims in this country stayed back because we believed that India belongs to us and Pakistan belongs to traitors. How wrong was I to believe that, when today I see my own community destroying the very country that gave them everything”.

    How true. Mr. Zakir Hussain, Chief Justice Mohammed Hidayatullah, Mr. Fakhrudin Ali Ahmed were Muslims. Shah Rukh Khan is a Muslim. So is Sania Mirza. If Muslims were discriminated against, we would never have had Muslim Presidents. Dr. Abdul Kalam would never have become a scientist and the President of India. Shah Rukh Khan, who had no roots in the film industry, would never have been a Superstar. Mr. Azim Premji of WIPRO would never have been the richest man of India. Quoted in rediff.com on Nov 13, 2002 Mr. Premji said “I would not be holding the position of the chairman of a software company if I had been discriminated against in India”. These are only a few examples and there are many more, which the Muslims of this country fail to see.

    This land, this country has given everything to those who have worked hard and have contributed towards the growth of this nation.

    If India ever goes to war and bombs are dropped on this country, the bombs will not spare Muslims because they believe in Allah, and kill Hindus because they believe in Bhagwan and Christians because they believe in God. We will all die.

    History has time and again given us examples to open our eyes. Whenever mankind has devised plans and elements to destroy others, those elements have become powerful over a period of time and attacked and destroyed their own mentors and creators. Indira Gandhi empowered Bindranwala. America empowered the Taliban. We have seen the results.

    To break this vicious cycle of hate and violence each one of us in our own community will have to come out strongly and speak out against those who are using religion to spread death and destruction.

    It ultimately remains the responsibility of each citizen of this country to stop radical and extremist forces within their own communities from taking further roots and destroying the social fabric of our country. Weather these elements are from SIMI or Bajrang Dal, Indian Mujahideen or VHP. They are all the same. If they are encouraged further, one day they will turn against their own communities. The only chance we have to stop them is, now.

    Jai Hind.

    TO POST YOUR COMMENTS ON THIS PLEASE visit http://www.acitizenforpeace.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

 
